34 Weeks

Only 6 weeks left. I’m beginning to wonder if I’m gonna make it all the way.

With both my other pregnancies it appeared I may go beyond my due date. With Little Miss, I was so miserable. I’d went from 120 lbs all the way to about 198. I was a prisoner in my own skin. I cried at every OB visit when she told me I was not or barely dilated. As a new mom I opted for induction. In I went just 4 days shy of my due date.

20130404-080617.jpg

34 Weeks

With Papa Son I had decided I wasn’t going to rush him. I had gone from about 122 lbs to about 187 or so. Still a great weight gain, but I wasn’t quite as miserable as I was with Little Miss. I was willing to stick it out. But, and this is just my opinion after educating myself a bit, Papa Son’s amniotic fluid levels were low. “Critically” according to my OB. This caused him to decide I needed an induction. Truth be told, this is where my opinion is inserted, Papa Son was a Thanksgiving baby. Who wants to be called in in the middle of their Thanksgiving feast with family to go deliver a baby. But I was not knowledgeable at the time. So I went along with what the doctor thought was in our best interest. Papa Son was induced 3 days early. Of course I found out later I could’ve just been admitted and pumped with IV fluids and this would have fixed out fluid problem.

This time around, I have been reading about natural birth. A LOT! I’ve also seen Ricky Lake’s Business of Being Born. If you haven’t seen it, it’s a must see! My eyes were opened completely. All of this information added on to my wanting to do it different this go ’round has me on a set path to natural birth. Even having to stand my ground with my OB about wanting to schedule me for a c-section because baby was breach at 32 weeks. You can read about that here.

To go back to why I’m wondering if I’m gonna make it… I’m having contractions. I still want to call them Braxton Hicks, but they just don’t seem to be the same in description. It’s becoming more painful. I feel pressure, baby feels low, but it’s just a feeling. Maybe slightly a hope.

But once again, I’m rambling on and this intro is longer than I had planned. Here is my weekly update:

Due Date: May 15, 2013

20130404-080609.jpg

34 Weeks

Gender: You’ll have to wait and see!

How far along? 34 Weeks.

Current measurements: 174 (Weight by my scale this morning. I think this is from the massive swelling!), 43.5 in. around.

Total weight gain: 44 lbs. Any advise on how to minimize weight gain would be great.

Movement: Still lots of movement. Hopefully this means baby is working on flipping vertex. The movements can be quite painful at times. Depending on where baby lays it’s extremely painful and difficult to walk.

Maternity clothes: Badly needed! I just can’t really see myself going out to purchase clothes for a few weeks worth of necessity. I think I may have to break down and get at least a few tops though.

Stretch marks: Yes. Around my belly button. Maybe a few on my sides. Nothing new.

Sleep: For almost a week now I’ve been able to sleep on a very slight incline, if at all. I have noticed I am all over the place. I assume this is me trying to get comfortable. I still wake a lot. And some nights almost don’t sleep at all.

Best moment this week: This just happened today. I was sitting in my room on my bed and needed to sneeze. I knew it would be a loud one. I thought, “I don’t want to wake the baby.” And when I sneezed I tried to make it not so loud. Once I realized what I was doing and the fact that there was no baby sleeping I had to laugh at myself. It was so strange. A fleeting thought, but it had a real effect. I texted this to my husband. He responded with, “Um, you may want to keep things like this to yourself.” LOL! Whatever!

Miss anything? There are quite a few things I’m beginning to miss. Here are a few:

20130404-080654.jpg

Here’s a shot of my swollen feet. This isn’t the worst of it either. But my ankles are gone!

  • Not looking like I have elephantitis of my extremities. My legs and hands have begun to stay swollen.
  • Good sex. (TMI?)
  • Not feeling exhausted.
  • My desire to do stuff. Anything. I just wanna sit, lay, be still.
  • My mom. She lives in Florida. I shouldn’t miss her cause she left Cali when I was 4 months pregnant with my 1st baby, Little Miss. She hasn’t been around for any of my pregnancies. I should be used to it. BUT, I’m not.
  • Feeling pretty. Right now I just feel big.

I guess I’ll stop there. Otherwise this would be an extra long post. LOL.

Food cravings: No real cravings to speak of.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope, nada!

Labor Signs? Not labor. These Braxton Hicks are no joke though. They have been painful for a few weeks now. They last longer and have a slight consistency to them. I haven’t mentioned it to my OB yet. It also appears as though my belly’s dropped. Not just to me, but others have mentioned it to me as well.

20130404-080637.jpg

Here’s an OOTD from April 2.
T-6W5D Belly Shot

Symptoms:

  • Shortness of breath after doing certain activities.
  • Pain in my groin ligaments. Feels like I pulled a muscle.
  • My hands and feet are swollen. Can you say elephantitis?! It’s painful. Feels like my skin is gonna tear.
  • Exhausted by day’s end. Not fun for my husband, but I’m trying.
  • Tossing and turning.
  • Leukorrhea (Again, TMI)
  • Gasiness
  • Pressure down below. Feels like my coo coo ca choo is gonna just fall out! LOL!

Belly button in or out? Still out. Not going anywhere. DD has taken a liking to pushing it. It’s squishy to her.

Wedding rings on or off? Sadly off. I was very sad. Held on as long as I could. I’m thankful my grandmother’s engagement ring still fits. It was too big for me so my wedding band kept it on my finger. In the morning it’s pretty loose, but by mid afternoon it’s fitting better. Thanks swollen hands.

Happy or moody most of the time: I think my moods are changing. I’m not sure what I am exactly. Sometimes happy. Sometimes sad. I think it’s just hormones. Still laughing to tears.

Looking forward to: Going shopping on Saturday. We’re gonna make a trip to Ikea to get the baby’s dresser and my kids bunk bed. I can’t wait to have baby stuff in my house. Plus, my baby shower is on the 13th. I am overwhelmed with excitement about that! Now, if I can just find something cute and comfy to wear… I’ll have to begin my search this week.

Miracles & Blessings,

Tenáj

P.S. I found these questions on www.annasaccone.com. I tweaked a few, but I thought they were perfect. I enjoyed reading hers as she journaled her pregnancy. I hope she doesn’t mind me using them. If you have a moment, go check out her site. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

