32 Weeks

Only 8 weeks to go! I can’t believe it. Before you know it I will have a new little bundle of joy in my arms. I seriously can’t wait. Uh, maybe I can… Just a little. LOL! I keep thinking if Baby came today am I ready. Nope. Not at all. So I suppose I can wait for just a bit longer.

Today was my 32 week OB visit. Today was my day of reckoning. If Baby was breech would I allow my doctor to put me on her c-section calendar. Well, I sat and waited. Hoping Baby had decided to cooperate for me and turn vertex, even if only for the moment. Upon ultrasound Baby was still breech. So began the conversation.

I simply told Dr. P I didn’t want to be put on the calendar for c-section. I feel like once that happens that will be out trajectory. She tried really hard to get me to understand just because I was on the calendar didn’t mean I was automatically gonna have a section. Here are a few things she told me:

  • If you don’t get on the schedule I can’t be sure it will be me who does the procedure.
  • I will have to do the c-section post call. Meaning I would have been up for 24 hours. I don’t think you want that.
  • I can’t wait to schedule you for a section closer to your due date. I’d have to reschedule 11 patients.
  • If you have the ECV and it’s not successful then you will have to have a section anyway.
  • If a crash section is necessary (CRASH meaning the baby will be out in less than 10 mins) you’ll be sleep and will miss the birth.
  • I don’t believe you’ll need a section. I think the baby will turn on it’s own.
  • It’s a pain to have to call a doctor friend that you trust and have to ask them to do a section for you last minute.
  • When I had my second child, he flipped and flipped. My doctor wanted to schedule me for a c-section and I would have panic attacks thinking about it in the middle of the night. I simply said, I don’t want to be scheduled for a c-section. I won’t need it the baby will turn. Everyone thought I was crazy. But I wouldn’t let the doctor schedule me. I just couldn’t lay on the table. I just wasn’t gonna show up for the appointment. But the baby turned at the last minute and everything was fine. I know now I was being irrational as a pregnant mom. But from one pre-irrational mom (places hand on my leg) to a current irrational mom, I’ve been there.

I’m certain there is more, but this is what I can remember for certain. I stood firm in my decision. Even after taking all points into account. Like she, I know my baby will turn.

So, that said, providing the baby doesn’t turn by 37 weeks I will undergo a procedure called ECV. She believes since this is not my 1st, but 3rd pregnancy it will be very successful. I’m totally ok with going forward with this procedure if necessary. The thought is with it being that close to the end of the pregnancy there will be enough room to manually turn baby, but not enough room for the baby to turn back to the breech position.

However, she did make sure to tell me if during the procedure baby’s heart has any issues I will be CRASH SECTIONED.

All I can say is today I won the battle. I am not on anyone’s calendar. I’m giving my baby every opportunity to do what it will naturally. And will cross every bridge as I get to it.

20130320-172736.jpg

32 Week Bump. Taken earlier today.

Due Date: May 15, 2013

Gender: It’s STILL a surprise! I’m still holding on.

How far along? 32 Weeks.

Current measurements: 167.6 lbs (weight by my scale this morning just before hopping in the shower. ), 42 in. around. Doctors scale said 171.9 lbs (fully clothed)

Total weight gain: 35-39 lbs. I’m not sure I can do anything to reverse this at this point. *sigh* I guess I’ll just have to work a tad harder postpartum.

Movement: Same as last week. I still think space it minimal. But I’m feeling lots of twists and turns. I know the baby does turn vertex cause I’ve felt feet in my ribs. Ouch! We also see weird bumps and lumps. It’s like ALIEN! Lol!

Maternity clothes: Sadly, no. Not because I don’t need them. This has caused a depressive morning for me EVERY Sunday for the past few weeks. I don’t have anything nice to wear to church that will cover this belly or fit around these thighs. So sad. I fight tears weekly. It’s almost to the point I want to tell my husband to just go on without me.

Stretch marks: Yes. Around my belly button. Maybe a few on my sides. Nothing new from the last update.

Sleep: The acid has subsided. Well, I think I’ve just got a handle on it. Still sleeping sitting practically up, but I am able to lay on my side in the same reclined position. I think I’m getting used to it cause the tossing and turning are minimizing, though not gone completely.

Best moment this week: Just last night… Mr. went out to celebrate a friends birthday. When he came home he told me I needed to come look at this spider. I hate spiders! Reluctantly, I climbed out of bed. As I walked towards him he was looking up. When I got to him immediately my eyes nervously went up to match his. Then he smiled and made motion towards the table. He’d bought me white tulips. I love tulips. There was a sign placed in front that said, “Just cause I love you.” I just hugged him and laughed. A sweet moment.

Miss anything? Probably not feeling self-conscious about what I eat. Not that I eat bad or anything. But just not being made aware when I do.

Food cravings: I’m not sure it’s a craving really, but I want fried zucchini from this burger place up the hill. And, well, sweets. Chocolate!

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nothing to speak of this week. Yay!

Labor Signs? Not really. Still really strong and painful Braxton Hicks.

20130320-172832.jpg

Papa Son Holding Up A Piece of My World.

Symptoms: •Shortness of breath after doing certain activities.
•Pain in my ligaments. Feels like I pulled a muscle.
•My hands and feet swell. Not just limited to evenings anymore.
•Nesting. But I know it comes and goes. Right about now I need it to stick around. Lots to do!
•Exhausted by day’s end. Not fun for my husband. Sorry, Babe. I’ve stopped waking at 5 a.m. for now.
•Tossing and turning.

Belly button in or out? Out. Been out since beginning of 2nd trimester. Maybe the end of my 1st. I showed by the time I was 4 weeks. No joke!

Wedding rings on or off? Sadly off. I was very sad. Held on as long as I could. I’m thankful my grandmother’s engagement ring still fits. It was too big for me so my wedding band kept it on my finger. In the morning it’s pretty loose, but by mid afternoon it’s fitting better. Thanks swollen hands.

Happy or moody most of the time: Still more happy than not. But I have had some sad moments. For various reasons. My patience is much better. Still crediting that to my routines being in place. Thanks FLYLady. I also notice I laugh harder. Tears of laughter is a frequent thing these days.

Looking forward to: I’m looking forward to feeling like I have the ball rolling on getting ready for baby. Right now I still am and feel very unprepared.

Miracles & Blessings,

Tenáj

20130320-172857.jpg

P.S. I found these questions on www.annasaccone.com. I tweaked a few, but I thought they were perfect. I enjoyed reading hers as she journaled her pregnancy. I hope she doesn’t mind me using them. If you have a moment, go check out her site. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

